1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You can now insert a snapshot of your gang into a forum post! Read this thread for details.
    Dismiss Notice

Gorkamorka FAQ

Discussion in 'Da Stuff' started by Flamekebab, Mar 20, 2014.

  1. Flamekebab

    Flamekebab Gang Hero
    Gorkamorka Warboss

    It's a bit harsh on the warrior but as far as I know there's nothing forcing you from keeping a warrior in the mob. You won't receive a refund!

    Depending on the cover situation they may become harder to hit when they are pinned and as such present a more difficult target than if they were still up. In those instances they can be skipped in favour of an easier to hit target. Pinned targets automatically escape from pinning if charged though and so can't be skipped.

    That sounds about right to me!
     
    Oruk. likes this.
  2. Oruk.

    Oruk. Juve

    I might have a make a mistake about Captured Shamans earning teefs as slaves, see Digganob p.27 : "The Digga may be added to the Mob roster like a hired Digga and all the rules for having a Digga in the mob apply." So does this means that a captive digga become a full time member of the ork mob or remains some kind of a slave able to fight for them ? there are a few differences between these :
    - if members (like hired diggas), boyz and yoofs will generate D3 teefs, Shamans 2D6 if they succeed a Ld test, and Digganobs nothing at all. They will also count towards the size of the mob when calculating the profit from the mine and will count in the ork mob's value.
    - if slaves, all of them will generate D6 teefs, no matter their type, without counting in the size of the mob or its value.

    I'm not sure about which one is the most RAW or RAI, but the first one seems a bit weird : I don't see why a captive Digga should be working less than other captives, or why a Digganob shouldn't be digging at all ... :cautious:

    So here are some other funny questions about captive diggas, enjoy ! :ROFLMAO:

    A digga from digga mob A is captured by ork mob B. He's now fighting for mob B (in another scenario than the rescue one) against mob A, but gets captured by mob A ! Can he be exchanged/ransomed/rescued ? if not/failed attempt, does he get back in mob A as a regular warrior or is he sold to Da Wreckers (like any other digga captured by a diggamob) ?

    A digga from digga mob A is captured by ork mob B. He's now fighting for mob B against mob C, but gets captured by mob C ! With which mob can he be exchanged/ransomed/rescued : A, B or both of them ? if both, which one has the priority on the other to exchange/pay/rescue ?
     
  3. Oruk.

    Oruk. Juve

    Let's forget about this, I missed something before this Digganob quote : "If an Ork mob with a Slaver captures a Digga they can force them to work in the mines as normal". So it's the second one, they'll be captives who can fight, not regular members.
     
  4. Ben_S

    Ben_S Gang Hero

    Map
    There was some discussion of dismissing gang members in Necromunda here https://yaktribe.org/community/threads/new-old-battle-wound.4214/page-2

    I believe some people house rule that you can, but if it's not in the rules then the presumption I'd have thought is that you can't.
     
    Flamekebab likes this.
  5. Kon-rad

    Kon-rad Ganger

    Map
    Capturing Diggaz..... man, back in the day, my buddy captured my ace-Diggaboss, complete with Deff-ray..... Failed to rescue him, so next game my buddy was like, "Hey, can I borrow MY Diggaboss mini?" :cry: nooooooo....... Let's say, after a couple games, that was the end of that particular Diggamob.

    The shooting/charging pinned models is something that I know has come up in our games. I can't remember how we played it. I'd go with your interpretation.
    How about ramming, running over Pinned models. Do they get to automatically unpin and take their Initiative test, or are they stuck cowering in the dirt? We let them unpin and take the test. If you unpin when charged, seems you'd unpin when a trukk tries to squash you. I think we let Down models take the test too. They can crawl 2", and it feels cinematic, rolling out of the way, battered and bleeding at the last second...
     
  6. Ben_S

    Ben_S Gang Hero

    Map
    I think that one came up earlier in the thread.

    Personally, I say let them test to roll out the way, but stay pinned. If they can roll out the way whilst down, I don't see why they can't whilst pinned.
     
  7. Oruk.

    Oruk. Juve

    This seems right to me too.
     
    Ben_S likes this.
  8. Flamekebab

    Flamekebab Gang Hero
    Gorkamorka Warboss

    I would say that the principle laid out on page 20 of Da Roolz applies to squashing pinned models ("The need to avoid being clubbed into the dirt forces the model into action."). Down models on the other hand don't seem like they'd be in any position to be making quick decisions to save their own skins ("When a warrior goes down he is either badly injured or temporarily knocked senseless: he might recover or he might lapse into unconsciousness and even die." - page 18 of Da Roolz).

    The pertinent question in my mind is whether pinned models get to roll out of the way or whether they automatically escape from pinning?

    I like that thread!
    @Mamutera is right though - Mordheim has rules for it ("You can also dismiss any warrior in your warband at any time." - page 78) . Necromunda and Gorkamorka are both silent on the subject and Mordheim specifically allows it. To me that's a fairly good basis for allowing it.

    Thoughts?
     
  9. Ben_S

    Ben_S Gang Hero

    Map
    It depends what the question is.

    If it's what would I'd like in the rules, want to see added to a 'Community Edition', etc then I'd vote for allowing you to retire a model (with the possible exception of your Leader/Nob) at any point.

    But, if you say you're playing 'by the book' and want to know what the current rules actually are then, like it or not, there's nothing allowing you to fire a fighter and the absence of this suggests to me that you can't - after all, if that had been the intent, then they would have said so, like they did in other games (Mordheim and indeed Blood Bowl).
     
    Oruk. and Flamekebab like this.
  10. Flamekebab

    Flamekebab Gang Hero
    Gorkamorka Warboss

    That's a pretty compelling argument too!

    I think we'll go with your interpretation as the RAW one then (y)
     
    Oruk. likes this.
  11. Oruk.

    Oruk. Juve

    Right again, pure RAW :(
     
  12. Flamekebab

    Flamekebab Gang Hero
    Gorkamorka Warboss

    RAW are only relevant for the FAQ though. You can change whatever you want for the people you play with (y)
     
    Ben_S likes this.
  13. Oddsox

    Oddsox Ganger

    Map
    I believe thag you cannot fire a fighter, after all this would provide an easy out for you if you wanted to get rid of a driver or gunner with permanent injuries. Or even your leader! There is a whole section of rules dedicated to the Orky fights around this idea.. this tells me the spirit of the game is about stubborn and crazy orks. I can't imagine the conversation between a nob and boss going something like Nob: "we'z bin talkin' an we are gunna 'ave to let yoo go Badruk, we'z just ain't seein' future wiv yoo in da mob. 'Ere's yer severence pay."
     
    Flamekebab and Ben_S like this.
  14. Oruk.

    Oruk. Juve

    There is more chance this might look like an ass-kicking than a conversation.

    Can we unequip Gubbins from a vehicle ?
    Not sure about it, but my guess is that Gubbins are treated as any other "equipment" and can be sold/hoarded/swapped (Da Uvver Book P.68).
    Your Thoughts ?
     
    #134 Oruk., Aug 24, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2016
    Flamekebab and Ben_S like this.
  15. Flamekebab

    Flamekebab Gang Hero
    Gorkamorka Warboss

    Off the top of my head there's nothing stating that Gubbins are permanent. On page 70 of Da Uvver Book there's a mention of reallocating gubbins and fixed weapons in the context of it not being allowed if a vehicle is destroyed. That suggests to me that under normal circumstances it's allowed.
     
    Oruk. and Ben_S like this.
  16. Oruk.

    Oruk. Juve

    Thanks, I had the same idea looking at the destroyed vehicles rules. This might help a lot Grots mobs to save their gubbins as they can't repair their vehicles :/
     
    Flamekebab likes this.
  17. Kon-rad

    Kon-rad Ganger

    Map
    We've always played that you can dismiss fighters, and switch gubbins around, but I can't think of an instance in our current "Kampain" that anyone has bothered. Seems our fighters get killed or captured before they get seriously incapacitated by injury.......
     
  18. Oddsox

    Oddsox Ganger

    Map
    I'd say if you want to dismiss a fighter or change gubbinz it requires a pit fight. In the case of dismissal its nob vs dismissed and for gubbinz its the two drivers duking it out. After all what driver would allow some uvver git to take his ram or hos wrecka ball?
     
    Flamekebab likes this.
  19. Kon-rad

    Kon-rad Ganger

    Map
    That is good and Orky! "Oye, where u fink yer goin' wif my Wrekkin' Ball mate?" You could make the vehicles Meks fight it out in the case of gubbins. I'd just add that "Pit Fights" are strictly for Leadership challenges. Switching crew is , I forget the term, just settled with knuckles and knives in a slop shop brawl.
     
    Flamekebab likes this.
  20. Oruk.

    Oruk. Juve

    This is cleraly house ruling it, gubbinz are assigned to vehicles, not drivers. :/

    But this leads to another question : what happens to a gunner if his Big Gun is swapped between vehicles ?
    According to the wording in Da Uvver Book p.27, it seems he will remain the gunner.
     
    Flamekebab likes this.

Share This Page