1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You can now insert a snapshot of your gang into a forum post! Read this thread for details.
    Dismiss Notice

Gorkamorka FAQ

Discussion in 'Da Stuff' started by Flamekebab, Mar 20, 2014.

  1. Azzabat

    Azzabat Gang Hero
    Yak Philanthropist Yak Comp 2nd Place

    Map
    On the subject of Big Gunz ... can you have more than 1 per vehicle?

    I have a harpoon gun on my Trukk and just upgraded to a Heavy Shoota. Selling it back only gets me 4 Teef so I was thinking of holding onto it for if (when) my Shoota runs out of ammo. Possible to have 2 Big Gunz on the same vehicle?
     
  2. Flamekebab

    Flamekebab Gang Hero
    Gorkamorka Warboss

    Nope. Page 27 of Da Uvver Book:
    You could hold onto the old weapon and stick it on a new vehicle. Other than that it's useless.
     
  3. Azzabat

    Azzabat Gang Hero
    Yak Philanthropist Yak Comp 2nd Place

    Map
    Bugger. I've just finished my second upgraded Harpoon Gun as well.

    Oh well ... time to make a 'Eavy Shoota. = )
     
  4. GrimDork

    GrimDork Juve
    Yak Comp 3rd Place

    For rebel grots, it says in the weapons section that a rebel grot may only have 1 gun. I'm assuming this doesn't apply to the Head Honcho as GW's official model is carrying a 6 shoota & shoota? What about the Bana Waver? I couldn't find any exceptions to the wording in digganob.

    Also, with the piling on rule, how does it work when it comes to exp for causing wounds?
    I'd assume that only the nominated grot who fights gets the exp, is this right?
     
    Flamekebab likes this.
  5. Flamekebab

    Flamekebab Gang Hero
    Gorkamorka Warboss

    The confusion here stems from the classification of pistols as hand-to-hand weapons. There's only two Rebel Grot Gunz - shootas and kannons.

    It's a daft way of wording things and they probably should have capitalised "Gun" in the weapons section.

    I would assume that each Grot would get 5 points. Rebel Grot players need all the help they can get!
     
  6. GrimDork

    GrimDork Juve
    Yak Comp 3rd Place

    Thanks, on re reading I had come to that conclusion on the weapons.

    With regard to the exp, if all those piling on get it, this could be a good tactic for levelling up snots quickly.
    Have one grot (would work best with the follow me skill) board a vehicle, followed by a load of snots. Have the grot be the fighter, all the snots add plus 1 attack dice & plus 1 to combat resolution.
    Then for as many wounds are caused (which could be a quite a few if you use lots of snots) the grot and all the snots get +5 exp per wound.
    Have I read this right? It seems rather good.
     
    Flamekebab likes this.
  7. Flamekebab

    Flamekebab Gang Hero
    Gorkamorka Warboss

    I'm wondering how this is handled in Necromunda (CE) as we tended to play that in each round of hand-to-hand combat each warrior could only receive five experience points regardless of the number of wounds inflicted. Shooting was different as each shot needed a roll to hit.
     
  8. Ben_S

    Ben_S Gang Hero

    Map
    I would think only the one actually fighting gets xp, though this is based on (what I consider) common sense, rather than anything in the rules.
     
  9. Flamekebab

    Flamekebab Gang Hero
    Gorkamorka Warboss

    Except in Pilin' On all the models are fighting. In a normal multiple combatant situation the second (etc.) attackers would gain experience for inflicting wounds. It's a tricky one to decide on.
     
  10. Ben_S

    Ben_S Gang Hero

    Map
    Hang on, I'm not really clear what the question is here.

    From this, it looks to me as if GrimDork has the Pilin' On rule wrong (or maybe I do). It seems that GrimDork thinks that one Grot and, let's say, two Snotz form a group up against one Ork - then only the Grot and the Ork actually fight, but the Grot gets +2 WS and A due to the Snots helping. That seems to be the suggestion in the third quoted sentence and to explain the question asked about experience.

    I'm not really familiar with Rebel Grotz, but I just looked over the Pilin' On rules and, at least as I read them, it looks as if each of the Grotz/Snotz should still fight in turn, just like in a normal multiple combat. If that's right though, then surely the xp question is straightforward - whichever one inflicts the wound(s) gets the experience. If the first attacker inflicts a wounding hit, he gets experience. If the second attacker also inflicts a wounding hit, he also gets experience. If there's then no one left for the third attacker to fight, he doesn't get any experience because he can't inflict wounding hits.
     
    Flamekebab likes this.
  11. Flamekebab

    Flamekebab Gang Hero
    Gorkamorka Warboss

    Frankly the Pilin' On rule needs a lot more explanation than Digganob provides :oops: It could well be that I've got it wrong too.
    Ultimately there must be someone that has it right. We might have to track down Gav Thorpe for this one...

    So as I see it we've got two conflicting ways the rule could work.
    1. Rebel Grots can use the multiple attackers rule on vehicles (and can defend in the same way).
    2. Rebel Grots can work together in groups to gain additional bonuses in a way that's not all that clear.
    The only reason I've been leaning towards the second one is because of the quote on page 37:
    This may be them trying to explain multiple attackers and doing a fairly rubbish job of it or there may be some other concept in play. Confusing.

    What do we think?
     
    Ben_S likes this.
  12. GrimDork

    GrimDork Juve
    Yak Comp 3rd Place

    My understanding is based on the clarification to how piling on works in the FAQ of this thread.
    My initial Q was how piling on affects allotting exp for close combats involving multiple grots/snots.
     
  13. Ben_S

    Ben_S Gang Hero

    Map
    I agree that the Pilin' On rule is pretty unclear - which is why I felt the need to qualify my previous comments ('as I read it' etc) - but I think it's the first of @Flamekebab 's options.

    (Having not re-read the whole of the thread, I didn't realise that the first post goes the other way on this, which makes it a fine question to ask. However, these answers do not seem to be official. That nothing is said about XP and wounding hits might be some further evidence against this being the intention.)

    The 'act as a single opponent' bit, as I read it, simply means that you have two or more Grotz fighting against one enemy, rather than one on one.

    Granted it could mean something more than that taken in isolation, but the next page says "the Rebel Grot player must declare who is fighting who before any combats are resolved (you can't wait and see if someone gets lucky before throwing in reinforcements!). As usual, only one enemy warrior fights at a time." I don't really see what either of those sentences means, on the rival interpretation.
     
    #33 Ben_S, Aug 26, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2015
    Flamekebab likes this.
  14. Flamekebab

    Flamekebab Gang Hero
    Gorkamorka Warboss

    I'm increasingly leaning towards the "clumsy choice of words" that justify the first option. The second is so radically different from how HtH works for other mobs as to be a different rule set entirely.
     
    Ben_S likes this.
  15. GrimDork

    GrimDork Juve
    Yak Comp 3rd Place

    Hmm still thinking about the piling on rule, I still lean towards option 2, as I don't see how the "act as a single opponent" line could be interpreted any other way.
    As to the lines about enemy fighting one at a time, the context of that paragraph seems to be referring to the enemy of the grot player, not enemies in a general way, so it would fit that they fight one at a time.

    Another Q. How do you treat stikkbombz in close combat. RAW say they are treated as a club (so strength +1) but in some circumstances would you ever use the stikkbomb strength?
    Eg. If you are attacking a vehicle in hand to hand it is likely you would intend for a krak stikkbomb to explode against a vehicle. Can they be used in this way? Or would it always be model strength +1 (like a club)?

    I can't find anything in the rules, but just wondered how people play it?
     
    Flamekebab likes this.
  16. GrimDork

    GrimDork Juve
    Yak Comp 3rd Place

    Sorry, just to clarify, I know that ordinarily you wouldn't be able to attack a vehicle in HtH, the Q popped into my head when reading the "Wrecka" skill description, where the model makes attacks direct against the vehicle rather than the crew.
     
    Flamekebab likes this.
  17. Flamekebab

    Flamekebab Gang Hero
    Gorkamorka Warboss

    The only time stikkbombs explode are when thrown or on a lucky roll in close combat with another fighter (page 58 of Da Roolz for details for anyone else reading this later

    If a warrior is on a vehicle unopposed he can totally attack the vehicle itself - bottom of page 44 of Da Roolz for details (y)

    Under those circumstances he could indeed use a Krak Stikkbomb at its full strength as shooting attacks are allowed.

    A discussion on the Facebook group provided a third option :LOL:
    I figure the best we can do is try to figure out the best option and suggest it as a recommended way of interpreting the rule. The one in the FAQ at the moment needs revising.
     
    Ben_S likes this.
  18. GrimDork

    GrimDork Juve
    Yak Comp 3rd Place

    A 3rd option?!? The plot thickens:LOL:
    Hmm, that seems even more op than option 2.

    Thanks for that page ref!
     
    Flamekebab likes this.
  19. Ben_S

    Ben_S Gang Hero

    Map
    That third option does seem over-powered. I'm not sure about saying it's 'more op than option 2', because I think option 1 is arguably more op than option 2 anyway. Yes, option 2 makes it more likely that you'll take down the Ork opponent, since you get multiple attempts, but also more likely that he'll take down a Grot or two first. Option 1 means you only get to fight once, but that's with some super-Grot, who's very likely to win.

    I agree that the "act as a single opponent" line is unclear, certainly. But I read it as acting - or perhaps better counting-as - one for the purposes of matching up attackers and defenders only. If the intention were that they fight as if they had some single combined statline then I think this would be a radical enough departure from usual rules that more would have been said to clarify how it works (e.g. do you have to nominate a single Grot, who then gets +X WS and A, or could you use the highest WS and A from the group as a whole?)

    There's further unclarity when we get to "The defender then assigns warriors to fight against attacking groups as normal". Does 'as normal' apply to the fighting or the assigning? It actually seems tricky to avoid any ambiguity, in a single short sentence, but I think these two slight re-phrasings make the alternatives a little clearer:
    a) The defender then assigns warriors, to fight against attacking groups, as normal.
    or
    b) The defender then assigns warriors to fight, as normal, against attacking groups.

    I think the most pertinent bit from the next page though is this: "you can't wait and see if someone gets lucky before throwing in reinforcements".

    The way I read it, if there are 5 Grots (G1-5) and two Ork opponents (O1 and O2), it's saying that the Grot player has to commit to something like 'G1-G3 fighting O1 and G4 and G5 fighting O2' before any dice are rolled. That is, he can't wait to see whether G1 'gets lucky' and takes O1 out, before deciding what G2 and G3 will do. (Otherwise, of course, the Grot player would then have G2-G5 all ganging up on O2.)

    I suppose this line would still make some sense on the rival interpretation (option 1): it could mean you can't throw the dice for G1 and then decide how many of G2-G5 are 'boosting' his stats. But the trouble is that this would appear redundant: since additional Grots affect the number of dice to be thrown, this seems obvious. So, the fact that this was stated makes me think that they're thinking of 'reinforcements' operating in the way I just described - as per the usual multiple combat rules.
     
    Flamekebab likes this.
  20. Ben_S

    Ben_S Gang Hero

    Map
    I just played a 'quick' demo game with my gf, but it turns out it wasn't so quick due to extreme rustiness on the rules - lots of flicking through the book looking for answers. Here are a few puzzlers. They may not actually be frequently asked, because I've probably overlooked answers somewhere, but:

    1) Where are the rules for Bottle Tests? I know they exist somewhere, but still can't find them even after a post-game look.

    2) p. 34 has rules for vehicles without drivers. I assume these also apply when the driver is merely down? It does actually refer to being pinned, so I would guess so, but it seems an odd example, because neither pinned nor down amounts to being without a driver.

    3) The aforementioned section also directs you to p. 44 for attempts by other crew to take over the steering wheel. It says that they can do this on a 4+. However, this section only refers to when a driver has been thrown overboard and it seems to be written on the assumption that an enemy boarder is still on board the vehicle.
    3a) Can another model (attempt to) take over driving when the driver is merely pinned/down and not overboard?
    3b) Do you need the 4+ test if there are no boarders present? (It's not clear whether this represents the difficulty of taking control with an enemy on board or simply the difficulty of taking control full stop.)
     
    Flamekebab likes this.

Share This Page